Lower Your Nets

When Simon Peter was approached by Jesus, he was obedient and subsequently blessed.  So much so, that Simon Peter left everything behind right there on the spot to follow Him.

Jesus is asking us all to lower our nets.  What little thing is God asking of me today?  What seemingly small act of obedience will result in blessings beyond comprehension?

Who knows.  Not me.

The things pressing on my heart are to stay calm with the kids, enjoy these moments with them at this young, snuggly age where I am the most important person in their life.  Sometimes that gets really hard.  But it is so crucial.

Also I am reminded that my body is a temple, and I need to treat it as such.  I want to be healthy in mind, body, and spirit.

I want to renew my passion for the Lord every single day when I wake up.  Every day is a fresh start.  My passions of yesterday do not need to be my passions of today.  It is totally fine to change my vision as I listen to God – as long as my vision lines up with His Word.  I admit that sometimes it is easy to tweak God’s vision to match mine – but I need to remember that just because something is PERMITTED doesn’t mean it is ACCEPTABLE.

Finally, I want the love in my heart to overflow today.  Overflow for Jesus, my husband, my kids, my friends who are coming over today, my mom whom I will surely speak to before the day is done…even my crazy cat, Gertie.  I love that crazy cat.

Dear Lord,  I want to see You today in all I do.  I want to honor You as much as I can in my words and actions…but most of all with the purity of my heart.  Please prompt me to lower my nets just like Simon Peter did; in that very moment, I want to do as You say even if I think it’s wiser to do otherwise (which, let’s face it, is ridiculous).  And then in that moment, I will be following You.  Thank you for the cool breeze wafting through my windows on this sunny day, and for helping my kids play nicely and quietly so I can write this blog this morning.  As you know, many times I am typing with two 2-year-olds literally hanging from my neck or trying to get me to stop writing and put on some Curious George.  Thank you for Curious George, which seems to have a magical calming power over my rambunctious children.  Thank you for forgiving me when I fall, which is all the time.  Thank you for giving me a confidence I never had before.  Thank you for saving me.  Thank you.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

1176221_10151632948091961_1799517496_n

This verse doesn’t have much to do with today’s post, but I thought it was so lovely!

12 thoughts on “Lower Your Nets

  1. Beautiful Stefanie! Thank you for being brave enough to write all your blogs. They are inspiring, honest, and make me aware of how important it is to focus on Jesus instead of my problems. God Bless you!

  2. I love this! We also love Curious George in our house and I know what you’re saying about little arms hanging off typing hands/arms! I have a 4-year-old and a 1-year-old and it’s hard to get much peace! Great post – keep up the wonderful writing!

  3. What a great message. I love your statement: “Every day is a fresh start. My passions of yesterday do not need to be my passions of today. It is totally fine to change my vision as I listen to God – as long as my vision lines up with His Word.” Sometimes when we believe in a vision from God we hold tight…but maybe the vision of yesterday isn’t in his plan today. Great insight to consider. Thank you and bless you!

  4. Stephanie,

    You have a lovely way with words. I really enjoyed reading this post–so much so that I’ve linked you on my blog hop post this week!

    When I read “lower your nets,” I immediately think of pride. What can I decrease in my life so that Christ increases? What are areas that blare pride instead of shine love? Quite a thinker!

    I’m inspired by your gratitude in such small things–like a breeze. Reminds me of Ann Voskamp and her quest to find One Thousand Gifts! You may enjoy her blog http://aholyexperience.com

    Thank you for this post. I was very blessed by it!

  5. “Dear Lord, I want to see You today in all I do. I want to honor You as much as I can in my words and actions…but most of all with the purity of my heart. Please prompt me to lower my nets just like Simon Peter did; in that very moment, I want to do as You say even if I think it’s wiser to do otherwise (which, let’s face it, is ridiculous).” – Love this! Going to share it today.

Leave a Reply

